How You Can Understand the Pennsylvania Car Insurance Minimums

April 19, 2011 in pennsylvania car insurance minimums

When it comes to shopping for car insurance, there are certain requirements. Pennsylvania car insurance minimums need to be considered as you shop for different quotes. In addition to being required to show proof of insurance at all times while driving, you will be required to have a minimum level of liability coverage on your vehicle as well. These are just the minimums, so you are welcome to go above, or add additional types of insurance to your premium as well.

 

Driving on the roads of Pennsylvania can be just as dangerous as anywhere else. Being insured protects you through any accidents that may happen. Pennsylvania car insurance minimums are a little higher than in other parts of the country because of the Tort system. States such as Pennsylvania that run under the Tort system are more expensive because someone is always found at fault during the accident. The one found at fault’s insurance company is the one that is responsible for all damages, property, and otherwise. For this reason, the minimum coverage is higher, therefore making the overall premium a little higher than the national average.

 

Pennsylvania car insurance minimums are 15/30/5. This means that there’s $15,000 bodily injury liability per person, up to $30,000 for the accident, and $5000 for property damage. These are the minimums, which means if you choose to have more, you can certainly do so, but it is not required by the state. If you’ve been involved in an accident in the past where the damages have exceeded this, or you always have multiple people in your car, you may want to consider bumping this coverage higher. There are also other kinds of insurance you can add to your premium, including uninsured motorist and rental insurance. These will benefit you greatly should you be involved in an accident with someone who has no insurance or while driving a rental car.

 

Once you’ve decided on the coverage that you want, it’s time to shop around. Every insurance company that operates in the state will know the Pennsylvania car insurance minimums, however it’s still important to double-check before agreeing to the coverage. Competition for insurance is tough and they all offer competitive rates. It can be difficult to decide which insurance company is right for you, so it comes down to those extra services and support that each offers that sets them apart from everyone else.

 

Sometimes accidents happen; that’s why they’re called accidents. Whether it’s because the roads were icy or someone looked in the backseat for a split second, collisions happen every day. Finding the right insurance company and having the Pennsylvania car insurance minimums on your policy will ensure that you don’t meet financial ruin. Not to mention, without proof of insurance, you could face time in jail, penalty fees and car impounding. The monthly expense for car insurance is much better than the alternative. Research the different companies and take out the policy that makes sense for your situation, knowing that you’ll find one that’s got everything you want and more.

Understanding Pennsylvania Car Insurance Minimums

April 10, 2011 in pennsylvania car insurance minimums

If you have a hard time understanding Pennsylvania car insurance minimums then you are not alone. Before you can understand each aspect of the numbers you have to understand what the purpose of them is. The minimum is set up to ensure that all drivers have insurance on their vehicles in the state. In order to legally drive, a driver must maintain these minimum insurance requirements at all times. The one thing to understand is that if you opt to only obtain the required coverage, you are opting for liability only. This means that if the accident is your fault, your damage is not covered. So what is covered under these minimums?

 

One of the key points of Pennsylvania car insurance minimums is the liability coverage for any injury caused to the people in the other car. The state law requires that you carry a specific amount of coverage for this. In other words, if the accident is your fault and the people in the other car are injured your insurance will pay up to a certain dollar amount. If you choose the minimum then your insurance company will pay $15,000 per person up to a maximum of $30,000 for injuries. If you opt for higher coverage then what your insurance pays will be determined by what coverage you select, but it will always be the minimum required by the state.

 

 When looking at Pennsylvania car insurance minimums you should also take note of the minimum liability for any property damage. What this amount covers is the damage to the other vehicle. In essence, it is the amount that your insurance will pay to the other person for damage to their car if the accident was your fault. The minimum is $5,000. They will always pay this much. Your job is to decide if this is enough to cover potential damages should the unthinkable occur. If you don’t believe so, you might want to increase the coverage.

 

The third part to Pennsylvania car insurance minimums is the personal injury protection. This is the only amount that is geared towards your own impact from the accident. This is the amount that your insurance will cover for any reasonable medical costs incurred from the accident for you. The state has the minimum set at $5,000. If you feel that you want more protection than this amount you would want to increase your coverage amounts on your policy.

 

As you navigate the world of insurance you will be faced with whether to go with the Pennsylvania car insurance minimums or whether to increase the coverage. The decision should be made based on what could happen and how much you think you would need if it did. If you opt for minimum protection you will be covered legally, but if the cost of the damage exceeds the insurance you will likely be held responsible for the remainder. So take the time to understand and make an informed decision about what coverage you should choose for your car.

Who Needs the Pennsylvania Car Insurance Minimums?

March 20, 2011 in pennsylvania car insurance minimums, property damage

Phone rings every few minutes here in the office…many times the caller wants “just the minimums”  Normally, we don’t bother asking if they know what the minimums are…at least not right away…never pays to contradict the client.  The laws regarding pennsylvania car insurance are pretty clear on the minimums. 

Question is…will the pennsylvania car insurance minimums give you the kind of coverage you need? Just so you know the minimum limit on bodily injury liability is $15,000 each person $30,000 each accident. What’s that mean to you? It means your car insurance will pay up to $15,000 as the result of injuries sustained in an accident as a result of your negligence. Simply…it’s the maximum your company will pay out to one person.  Statistically, the odds are in your favor that you probably won’t have an accident…and if you do, the damages will be simple property damage to someone’s car. The minority of accidents actually cause bodily injury to anyone so maybe you’d be OK. On the flip side…if someone is injured…or claims to be injured…your policy will pay up to the 15K. Considering the average broken arm claim is over 25K you might be able to see how 15K isn’t going to cut it when someone gets hurt.

Minimum property damage liability seems to be the more prevalent of the coverage that gets folks into trouble. The minimum is $5000 required by pennsylvania car insurance laws. You bang into my 2010 Chevy pickup and cause over $5,000 damages and you’re going to eventually get a bill from my insurance company. You see…after your insurance maxes out…mine will kick in and pay me…so I’ll have no gripe with you…but my insurance company will. From what I’ve seen about insurance companies…they want paid. So…they’ll file a judgement against you (no matter how poor you are) and will have your driving priviledges revoked until you satisfy the judgement. Not very neighborly huh ? Yeah Andy Griffith wouldn’t have done that…that’s for sure

You Must Carry Pennsylvania Auto Insurance Minimums

February 10, 2011 in erie insurance agent, liability coverage, pennsylvania auto insurance minimums, pennsylvania car insurance minimums, property damage

The law in Pennsylvania requires motorists to have car insurance if they are going to drive on the streets and highways across the Commonwealth. The rules are very specific on Pennsylvania car insurance minimums which everyone must meet however drivers are free to enhance their coverage as desired. Many progressive agent in Pennsylvania will write minimum limits of insurance for drivers who are higher risk or have no assets to protect in the event of a catastrophic loss. As an Erie Insurance agent, most of my clients are not willing to jeopardize their personal assets by reducing their coverage to these minimums. Companies like Mercury, Progressive, Grange all have special programs that cater to the minimum limit drivers and we are set up to offer these as well.

 

The Pennsylvania car insurance minimums set the amount of liability protection drivers must carry in the event of an accident. For bodily harm, the minimum is $15,000 for an individual and up to $30,000 total to pay the medical expenses of the victims of an at fault accident. For property damage, the minimum for liability coverage is $5,000 per accident. Pennsylvania also requires drivers to have coverage for medical costs to treat the policy holder for injuries from an accident; the minimum amount for this type of coverage is $5,000. As an Erie Insurance agent and an agent with regards for the financial well being of my clients I will recommend for almost every driver to carry much higher limits than what is required by the state of Pa.

 

Pennsylvania car insurance minimums do not require the driver to carry any coverage to pay for damage to their own car. Liability and Comprehensive Coverage for a personal vehicle is the choice of the driver, however most banks and leasing companies will require that type of coverage if they hold the loan on the vehicle. If the car is paid for and is an older model, most people will not carry collision protection since the vehicle is not worth that much to begin with.

 

There are serious consequences if you do not carry auto insurance in Pennsylvania. If you are caught driving without at least a minimum amount of coverage, you could be subject to a fine of $300 or more and lose your drivers license and vehicle registration for at least three months. There are additional fees that you will have to pay as well to have your driver’s license reinstated and your vehicle registration restored.

 

The cost of insuring your vehicle in Pennsylvania will depend on the type of coverage that you choose, your age and driving record. It is more expensive for teens to be insured than adults because statistically they pose a higher risk for being involved in a crash. If you forget to renew your policy, the Commonwealth allows a thirty one day period for the policy to lapse before any penalties kick in.

Searching For Erie Insurance Agents?

February 9, 2011 in Erie Insurance agents, Pennsylvania Car Insurance, pennsylvania car insurance minimums, Pennsylvania car insurance policy

As an Erie Insurance agent for the past 26 years I’ve seen the days when the search for an erie insurance agent wasn’t nearly as easy as it is today. Of course the internet was probably just a thought in Al Gore’s head when I started with Erie !

 

Actually, I think there may be fewer Erie insurance agents today than there were 26 years ago whenI got my start. So many things have changed with pennsylvania car insurance quotes and pennsylvania car insurance in general that it would take a week to recall just the changes to pennsylvania car insurance policy’s in just the past ten years. It wasn’t so long ago that Erie had two tiers for pennsylvania auto insurance…the Exchange and the Company. If you were squeaky clean you got the Exchange…if not..you went into the Erie Insurance company.  Today it is a complicated system of scoring and profiling that determines your placement in one of 30something tiers.

 

For decades Erie insurance agents held the keys to the best pennsylvania car insurance policy on the market. Of course that may have changed slightly in the past few years as well. Although Erie does have a top notch product, there have been so many newcomers into the pennsylvania car insurance and cheap pennsylvania car insurance scene it’s just too hard to keep track any more.  Getting rate quotes from several different insurance companies is usually the best choice for finding out how well Erie stacks up against the competition. Fortunately, we are also agents for many top rated insurers so we are able to find that information for anyone who inquires with us.

 

Keep several things in mind when you do consider an Erie Insurance agency to handle your pennsylvania car insurance. Most Erie insurance agents have been with company for many years and many times it is a generation of families running the same office. If stability is important to you, then you’ve made a good choice.