Pa Car Insurance Archives - Bradford PA Insurance - Williams Insurance Agency

New Laws Affect Car Insurance For Teen Drivers In Pennsylvania

June 30, 2013 in bradford, Bradford PA, bradford pennsylvania, car insurance, car insurance in bradford, car insurance in bradford pa, car insurance in pennsylvania, learner’s permit, Pa Car Insurance, suspensions

There is now a mandatory requirement for teens to have Pa car insurance.  They also must take a minimum of six-months to build up skills before taking the road test.  This includes a minimum of 65-hours of certified behind-the-wheel skill building.  In addition, there are 10-hours certified nighttime behind-the-wheel driving hours; and 5-hours of certified bad weather driving.  These laws are because Pennsylvania wants teen drivers to be safe drivers.

Additionally, an adult must be 21 or older to teach a teen to drive.  The students permit will be valid for one year.  After that period, a new permit is required.  When a student is behind the wheel, the number of passengers cannot go over the number of seat belts in the car.

All learner’s permit holders are under the same laws as licensed drivers.  Additionally, they must have completed all required skill training, from an instructor, before they can receive their junior license.  Pennsylvania laws now require all drivers and passengers to have and wear a seatbelt.  The seatbelt must have the correct adjustment and fastening.  Failure to obey the seat belt law is a major offense and any driver stopped will receive a ticket.

There is a mandatory 90-day suspension for traffic speed convictions exceeding 25 miles per hour or more over the posted speed limit.  There is a suspension for six-points or more that are accumulative.  For example, two tickets of 3-points each would mean a suspension.  This is very important to note because a suspension means it will be difficult to get or keep car insurance.

Pennsylvania laws are important and should have a discussion between parents, teens, and an insurance agent prior to beginning the driving experience.  This would be Pennsylvania laws about car insurance that is a requirement.

If the family member is 16-18 and has a junior license, they need car insurance for a new or used vehicle in Pennsylvania.  At the time of the purchase, you register with the state, and proof of insurance is required before driving anywhere.  If the car will have a registration separately in the teen’s name, the car insurance could then be a separatepolicyholder coverage only if deemed appropriate by the parent.

Find an insurance agent that can give you some ideas about Pennsylvania laws on car insurance for younger drivers.  Being financially responsible is a primaryissue that needs additional discussionwith parents, the teen driver, and the insurance agent.  Teens need to know they are going to be responsible for gas, car payments, car insurance, and maintenance.  They also must follow Pennsylvania laws for driving.  The Department of Motor Vehicles guide can help all drivers gain the knowledge of the laws pertaining to car insurance in Pennsylvania.

Common Questions About Car Insurance In Pennsylvania

June 25, 2013 in bradford, Bradford PA, bradford pennsylvania, car insurance in bradford, car insurance in bradford pa, car insurance in pennsylvania, full coverage, full tort, limited tort, Pa Car Insurance

Often there are questions people have about what is required for their car insurance in Pennsylvania.  These can even include how to have the most protection for the least amount of money.  Additionally, it is difficult to understand the differences between Full Tort and Limited Tort options.  The following will attempt to answer the five most common questions about car insurance in Pennsylvania.

  1. I just purchased a new car, can I drive until I find car insurance.

The answer is a definite NO.  Car insurance is mandatory in Pennsylvania.  All drivers in the household must have coverage, even if they have their own vehicles.  It is the law.  You risk losing your driving privileges and a mandatory 3-month suspension once insurance is in place.

  1. What is the difference between Full Tort and Limited Tort options?

Just as it sounds, the greatest difference between the two is full coverage means you can receive the full amounts from an accident, including pain and suffering, but limited coverage places limits on what you will receive.  Therefore, Full Tort has a higher premium and Limited Tort has a lower premium.  Talk with your insurance agent to determine what best meets your needs because once selected it cannot change even when renewed.

  1. Why are my premiums so much higher since I moved?

Pennsylvania allows car insurance companies to charge more in areas where they have paid out more claims.  This does not mean you moved to a bad neighborhood, in fact it can sometimes be the opposite.  Vehicles that are more expensive receive damage or theft in neighborhoods where homes are cost more because people can afford the expense.

  1. I do not understand all the terms in my policy, what can I do.

The first call should be to your insurance agent.  They work with insurance policies all the time and can usually answer your questions.  If you still have questions then calling or writing the Pennsylvania Insurance Department Bureau of Consumers Services can answer questions.

  1. Can my car insurance company cancel or refuse to renew my policy?

The answer is a definite YES!  While no company can discriminate for any reason due to age, marital status, occupation, or gender they can cancel or refuse renewal for late or missed payments, suspensions, moving violations, or accidents.


Late or missed payments are one of the biggest reasons for cancellations or non-renewals.  Pennsylvania does not require car insurance companies to give a grace period.  Moreover, since most missed payments lead to suspensions it makes it quite easy for them to cancel the policy.


The best way to assure they always receive your payments on time is through automatic deductions.  Then just make sure you are never overdrawn.  This also saves you the expense of $300.00 for reinstatement of driving privileges.  Pennsylvania wants all drivers to be financially responsible.


Some moving violations, such as driving under the influence, can have an automatic suspension when you receive a guilty verdict.  As stated above a suspension is a valid reason for cancellation or non-renewal of your Pa car insurance.  Being a responsible driver means obeying all Pennsylvania laws.







Pennsylvania, The True Cost Of Car Insurance

May 8, 2013 in Auto liability insurance, bradford, Bradford Car Insurance, Bradford PA, bradford pennsylvania, car insurance, car insurance in bradford, car insurance in bradford pa, car insurance in pennsylvania, liability insurance, Pa Car Insurance, proof of insurance, underinsured motorists, uninsured motorists

All Pennsylvania motorists are required to have liability insurance on their car, but the true cost of Pa car insurance is far higher than that monthly payment.  It is the Law and without insurance, you will lose the privilege to drive.  The Department of Motor Vehicles requires written proof of insurance at the time of registering your vehicle.  Auto liability insurance only covers any property damage or injuries that occur in an accident.

The person responsible for the accident is the person liable and who must pay all costs related to the accident.  This includes damage to property, vehicles, and injuries to the victims of the accident.  Every owner of an auto, truck, van, or motorcycle must have at the least, liability insurance to cover these expenses.  Otherwise, they cannot drive, or allow anyone else to drive, their vehicle.  Without insurance, Pennsylvania will suspend the owner’s registration and driving privileges.  Additionally, they cannot even allow anyone else to drive their uninsured vehicle.

You need to consider having enough car insurance, regardless of the Pennsylvania minimum requirements.  The minimum requirements do not cover many of the extra costs that can run into thousands of dollars.  For example, you need enough coverage to protect your own family, and passengers as well as your assets.

While the mandatory of liability insurance meets the Pennsylvania laws, other coverage options are available for an additional fee.  You should talk to your insurance agent about some of the following to determine if any would help to meet your needs.

  • Uninsured Motorist Coverage
  • Underinsured Motorist Coverage
  • Income Loss Protection
  • Extraordinary Medical Coverage

Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Yes, unfortunately even with strong Pennsylvania laws, there are still drivers who have no insurance but continue to drive.  Adding this coverage to your policy will protect passengers including you and your family if you were in an accident.  This coverage does not protect against damage to property.

Income Loss Protection

This would include wages that are lost due to the injuries you sustain in an accident.  It also includes wages lost from long-term rehabilitation.

Extraordinary Medical Coverage

This coverage is vital.  It pays for extensive medical and rehabilitation expenses that exceed $100,000.  When multiple people sustain serious injuries in your vehicle, the medical expenses can easily exceed this limit.  While there is a maximum coverage of up to $1,000,000, not many accidents ever reach that amount.

There are other options, which you can add to your basic insurance policy.  Ask about any discounts, which you might be eligible to receive.  Discussing your budget will give you the information you need to make a wise decision about obtaining the best coverage for the least money.

However, keep in mind the true cost of car insurance in Pennsylvania is not having enough coverage to protect yourself from accidents, whether they are your fault or the other persons.  The best idea is to review all your options with your car insurance agent who knows what benefits will protect you in Pennsylvania.

Pedestrian Hit By A Car In Pennsylvania, What Are Their Rights?

April 16, 2013 in bradford, Bradford Car Insurance, Bradford PA, bradford pennsylvania, car insurance in bradford, car insurance in bradford pa, car insurance in pennsylvania, insurance companies, Pa Car Insurance, Pennsylvania Car Insurance, Pennsylvania car insurance company, Pennsylvania car insurance laws

If a car in Pennsylvania has hit you, the first two questions you should ask are what are my rights?  Does their Pa car insurance pay my medical expenses?  While a lawyer will give you advice and even assistance to find the right medical treatment, knowing your rights can also help. First call 911, report the accident, and file a police report.  Whether injuries were slight or major, most insurance companies will not make any payment without a full incident report.

If you were a pedestrian, your injuries can be quite serious, including fractures, neck, head, and spinal cord injuries.  Significant injuries can result in lost wages.  Two important things you need to know to protect your rights are to obtain a complete medical evaluation and call an attorney.

Medical Evaluation

After any accident, you may not realize how serious your injuries are.  The first step is to receive an evaluation from a doctor. On-scene emergency care is essential, but equally critical is a full evaluation by a medical professional.  Sometimes your injuries are unclear until x-rays can reveal the extent of the injury.

You are highly urged not to settle with a Pennsylvania car insurance company after an accident, without an attorneys help. At the hospital, do not sign anything given to you by their agent.  Do not even make comments or allow a recording of interviews, without your own attorney present.


In the best of times, it is difficult to understand Pennsylvania car insurance laws, especially “full tort” and “partial tort.”  When you have injuries, it is even more difficult. There are many highly expert personal injury lawyers.  They will even come to the hospital if you are unable to go to them.  Most do not charge a fee unless they win your case.

Let your attorney act to get the maximum in settlements, especially if you should need long-term care.  Whether assisting you in obtaining the additional medical treatment you need, dealing with complex insurance issues, or detailing your losses, they can control all facets of the personal injury process.

Life-changing injury can result from an auto or truck, which strikes a pedestrian.  Sometimes the person is unable to ever work or care for himself or herself. Chronic pain from nerve damage can make it difficult to sit or stand.  Working with someone who understands the complexity of car insurance in Pennsylvania and these medical issues is the best way to protect your rights.


What are the different types of letters that I can get from PENNDOT after suspension?

April 8, 2013 in bradford, Bradford Car Insurance, Bradford PA, bradford pennsylvania, car insurance in bradford, car insurance in bradford pa, Pa Car Insurance, penndot, pennsylvania department of transportation, proof of insurance

PENNDOT is the common name used to refer to the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation.  This department is therefore closely related to the auto insurance because it is mandatory for every car owner to have Pa car insurance. PENNDOT will not normally contact you directly and when they do they send letters. There are different types of letters about suspension that one can get from PENNDOT.

One such letter is the suspension letter. PENNDOT normally requires that one shows proof of insurance from time to time. If this rule is not adhered to, the person will get a letter of suspension. If you get the request to show proof of insurance, get it from your insurance provider. There are people who do not pay insurance but have also opted to keep their vehicles out of the roads. If this is the case you can get the MV- 221. This is the Non Operation of Vehicle document that proves that you do not drive the vehicle due to the fact that it is not insured. This is not illegal according to the law. Other people also get this letter if they did not coordinate with traffic police when they were flagged down. When you get this letter, you will have to surrender your car plate, card and sticker.

The second letter that you can get from PENNDOT is the registration letter for your car. This letter will inform you on the steps you need to take after your insurance is suspended. You can even get it online. There are some requirements that you will need to have so that you get the needed information. After this letter, you will get the eligibility letter that will inform you of the necessary requirements that you need to do in order to have your vehicle restored. You will also need to show a proof of insurance. It is only after you get these letters and abide by them that you will get the restoration letter. You will then get back your car plate, card and sticker.

These are the letters you should look out for when you have been suspended. In order to ensure that you are not suspended, ensure that you abide by the law. This is especially with regards to those that affect cars and car insurance. It is not pleasant to have a suspension in your record and this might even make your premium rates go up.