Stop wasting money on insurance.

November 6, 2015 in auto insurance, Bradford Car Insurance, car insurance in bradford, car insurance in bradford pa, home insurance, homeowners insurance, homeowners insurance companies, homeowners insurance policy, homeowners insurance quotes, homeowners policy, Homeowners quotes in Bradford, Homeowners quotes in bradford pa, homeowner’s insurance increases

insurance quote in bradford pa
Are you throwing your money away? If you are going with “the other guy” for your insurance, you probably are. At the Williams Agency – we pride ourselves in saving our customers money, without skimping on coverage.

Take a look at what we saved these homeowners.

bradford pa homeowners insurance

Whether it’s homeowners insurance, auto insurance, life, or even your medicare supplement – let the Williams Agency give you a quote. We might just save you hundreds of dollars!

Fill out this form and get a quote today!

First Name (required)

Last Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Your Telephone Number>

Date of Birth:

Interested in:

Additional Comments


New Laws Affect Car Insurance For Teen Drivers In Pennsylvania

June 30, 2013 in bradford, Bradford PA, bradford pennsylvania, car insurance, car insurance in bradford, car insurance in bradford pa, car insurance in pennsylvania, learner’s permit, Pa Car Insurance, suspensions

There is now a mandatory requirement for teens to have Pa car insurance.  They also must take a minimum of six-months to build up skills before taking the road test.  This includes a minimum of 65-hours of certified behind-the-wheel skill building.  In addition, there are 10-hours certified nighttime behind-the-wheel driving hours; and 5-hours of certified bad weather driving.  These laws are because Pennsylvania wants teen drivers to be safe drivers.

Additionally, an adult must be 21 or older to teach a teen to drive.  The students permit will be valid for one year.  After that period, a new permit is required.  When a student is behind the wheel, the number of passengers cannot go over the number of seat belts in the car.

All learner’s permit holders are under the same laws as licensed drivers.  Additionally, they must have completed all required skill training, from an instructor, before they can receive their junior license.  Pennsylvania laws now require all drivers and passengers to have and wear a seatbelt.  The seatbelt must have the correct adjustment and fastening.  Failure to obey the seat belt law is a major offense and any driver stopped will receive a ticket.

There is a mandatory 90-day suspension for traffic speed convictions exceeding 25 miles per hour or more over the posted speed limit.  There is a suspension for six-points or more that are accumulative.  For example, two tickets of 3-points each would mean a suspension.  This is very important to note because a suspension means it will be difficult to get or keep car insurance.

Pennsylvania laws are important and should have a discussion between parents, teens, and an insurance agent prior to beginning the driving experience.  This would be Pennsylvania laws about car insurance that is a requirement.

If the family member is 16-18 and has a junior license, they need car insurance for a new or used vehicle in Pennsylvania.  At the time of the purchase, you register with the state, and proof of insurance is required before driving anywhere.  If the car will have a registration separately in the teen’s name, the car insurance could then be a separatepolicyholder coverage only if deemed appropriate by the parent.

Find an insurance agent that can give you some ideas about Pennsylvania laws on car insurance for younger drivers.  Being financially responsible is a primaryissue that needs additional discussionwith parents, the teen driver, and the insurance agent.  Teens need to know they are going to be responsible for gas, car payments, car insurance, and maintenance.  They also must follow Pennsylvania laws for driving.  The Department of Motor Vehicles guide can help all drivers gain the knowledge of the laws pertaining to car insurance in Pennsylvania.

Common Questions About Car Insurance In Pennsylvania

June 25, 2013 in bradford, Bradford PA, bradford pennsylvania, car insurance in bradford, car insurance in bradford pa, car insurance in pennsylvania, full coverage, full tort, limited tort, Pa Car Insurance

Often there are questions people have about what is required for their car insurance in Pennsylvania.  These can even include how to have the most protection for the least amount of money.  Additionally, it is difficult to understand the differences between Full Tort and Limited Tort options.  The following will attempt to answer the five most common questions about car insurance in Pennsylvania.

  1. I just purchased a new car, can I drive until I find car insurance.

The answer is a definite NO.  Car insurance is mandatory in Pennsylvania.  All drivers in the household must have coverage, even if they have their own vehicles.  It is the law.  You risk losing your driving privileges and a mandatory 3-month suspension once insurance is in place.

  1. What is the difference between Full Tort and Limited Tort options?

Just as it sounds, the greatest difference between the two is full coverage means you can receive the full amounts from an accident, including pain and suffering, but limited coverage places limits on what you will receive.  Therefore, Full Tort has a higher premium and Limited Tort has a lower premium.  Talk with your insurance agent to determine what best meets your needs because once selected it cannot change even when renewed.

  1. Why are my premiums so much higher since I moved?

Pennsylvania allows car insurance companies to charge more in areas where they have paid out more claims.  This does not mean you moved to a bad neighborhood, in fact it can sometimes be the opposite.  Vehicles that are more expensive receive damage or theft in neighborhoods where homes are cost more because people can afford the expense.

  1. I do not understand all the terms in my policy, what can I do.

The first call should be to your insurance agent.  They work with insurance policies all the time and can usually answer your questions.  If you still have questions then calling or writing the Pennsylvania Insurance Department Bureau of Consumers Services can answer questions.

  1. Can my car insurance company cancel or refuse to renew my policy?

The answer is a definite YES!  While no company can discriminate for any reason due to age, marital status, occupation, or gender they can cancel or refuse renewal for late or missed payments, suspensions, moving violations, or accidents.

 

Late or missed payments are one of the biggest reasons for cancellations or non-renewals.  Pennsylvania does not require car insurance companies to give a grace period.  Moreover, since most missed payments lead to suspensions it makes it quite easy for them to cancel the policy.

 

The best way to assure they always receive your payments on time is through automatic deductions.  Then just make sure you are never overdrawn.  This also saves you the expense of $300.00 for reinstatement of driving privileges.  Pennsylvania wants all drivers to be financially responsible.

 

Some moving violations, such as driving under the influence, can have an automatic suspension when you receive a guilty verdict.  As stated above a suspension is a valid reason for cancellation or non-renewal of your Pa car insurance.  Being a responsible driver means obeying all Pennsylvania laws.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Can The Insurance Company Cancel My Pennsylvania Car Insurance Policy?

June 15, 2013 in assigned risk plan, bradford, Bradford PA, bradford pennsylvania, car insurance in bradford, car insurance in bradford pa, car insurance in pa, car insurance policies in Pennsylvania, car insurance policy in Pennsylvania, department of motor vehicles, full tort, limited tort, suspensions, violations

There are many reasons why your insurance company can cancel your car insurance policy in Pennsylvania.  Moving violations, suspensions, and accidents are just a few.  Late payments and missing a payment is another, and Pennsylvania laws do not require companies to have a grace period for premium payments.  However, by law, you will still need to obtain new insurance or you risk suspended driving privileges completely.

Additionally, some insurance companies add surcharges at renewals if you have moving violations, suspensions, or accidents even if they are not your fault.  Some will even allow your spouse or teens to remain on the policy if you have a cancellation, but you will not be able to drive the vehicle yourself.  Furthermore, once cancelled, no one can drive your vehicle until you purchase replacement insurance through another company, and reinstatement is complete.

If you receive a cancellation and cannot find replacement insurance Pennsylvania has an Assigned Risk Plan that is more expensive, but does keep you on the road.  The insurance could even go through the same insurance company you have now.  This is because the commonwealth requires all companies that sell in Pennsylvania to participate in the Assigned Risk Plan.

Keep in mind that you can also cancel your insurance policy provided you have coverage to replace the plan.  However, there are some risks involved.  The greatest is that the new Insurance Company has up to 60 days to investigate all drivers in the household, if any have suspensions, moving violations or accidents they also can cancel your new policy.  Likewise, each time you receive a cancellation the next insurance company deems you a higher risk.  Eventually you would only be eligible for the Assigned Risk Plan.

Still, you may be asking a question about what you can do when faced with high premiums.  Even so, there are many reasons for your rates to be higher.  If a company has paid a higher volume of claims in some neighborhoods, they can increase rates.  If a driver in your household has moving violations or suspensions, they can increase rates.  If you or any family members have been involved in any accidents, they can increase rates.

Sometimes it is less expensive to purchase a separate policy for the person who is a higher risk.  However, you must prove to the Department of Motor Vehicles that each person has insurance. Although the company cannot cancel you because of age, marital status, occupation, or for any discrimination purposes, every driver who lives in the household must have insurance or you will risk suspension and all driving privileges.

Additionally, you can reduce the amount of insurance coverage you currently have.  Work with your agent to determine, where you could best reduce the expense of your insurance policy without reducing the benefits that you need.

Full Tort and Limited Tort are options that you select, but if you select Limited Tort, you should be aware that you are limiting you rights to full settlements if you are in an accident.  Uninsured and Underinsured coverage are other options that can decrease your premium.  However, again each loses some of the benefits found in most car insurance policies in Pennsylvania.

 

Pennsylvania Car Insurance For Teen Drivers

June 5, 2013 in bradford, Bradford Car Insurance, Bradford PA, bradford pennsylvania, car insurance for teens in pennsylvania, car insurance in bradford, car insurance in bradford pa, Insuring a teen driver, Pennsylvania Department of Motor Vehicles, property damage

Pennsylvania requires car insurance for all vehicles on the road.  Insuring a teen driver for the first time is an additional cost for many parents.  For drivers between the ages of 16-18 years, there are new laws that pertain to skill building to help them be responsible drivers.  They also include the number of passengers that can be in the automobile.  Number of passengers cannot exceed number of seatbelts in the car.

There is a requirement for at least 65 hours of behind the wheel skill building, 10 hours for nighttime driving and 5 hours bad weather driving.  Before a teen receives a learners permit the insurance company may want he or she to be included on the parent’s policy.  It is a good idea to talk to your agent, about what would be the requirements.  Because they are not mature adults, insurance companies consider this a higher risk, which leads to higher premiums.

Your teenager might be eligible for some discounts.  Ask your insurance agent if it is possible to get a discount for good grades or completed drivers education courses.  The Pennsylvania Department of Motor Vehicles needs to know if new teen drivers will be able to take care of the responsibilities financially, if they have an accident.  Whether through a parent’s policy, that covers insurance for them, or a policy of their own.

Insurance premium costs can be a huge issue for younger drivers.  Saving money or not getting enough coverage can be a big mistake.  There are now ways of establishing financial responsibility.  One would be to have a car insurance policy that meets Pennsylvania minimum standards.  Another option is to be self-insured, which requires a minimum of $50,000 cash bond.

To drive legally, a registered automobile must have liability insurance protection as follows.

  • $15,000 of coverage for an injury or death of one person in an accident
  • $30,000 of coverage for injuries or death of more than one person in an accident
  • $5,000 of property damage

For young drivers there are other options for more coverage,which offer better protection for them and their family.  You will want to discuss other options with an insurance agent.  The agent has the knowledge you will need for all the laws pertaining to car insurance for driving in Pennsylvania for teens.

Take some time to investigate rates and coverage at different insurance companies.  You will find no two companies are alike.  You can make online searches or use toll-free numbers provided by insurance companies.  Research is your best way of finding the car insurance in Pennsylvania that gives you the coverage as well as the options you need and can afford