June 2012 - Bradford PA Insurance - Williams Insurance Agency

Pennsylvania Car Insurance: If I Buy A New Car And Have An Accident Will My Insurance Apply?

June 28, 2012 in auto insurance, auto insurance bradford, auto insurance bradford pa, bradford, Bradford Car Insurance, Bradford PA, bradford pennsylvania, car insurance, car insurance in bradford, car insurance in bradford pa, collision, collision coverage, collision insurance, collision insurance bradford, comprehensive, full coverage, liability coverage

If you have your Pennsylvania driver license then chances are you know you need to carry Pennsylvania car insurance to drive a vehicle on public roadways.  One of the first things you learn in driver’s school and from your parents is that you should never drive a vehicle if you do not have insurance that will satisfy the PA auto insurance laws.  You should also never drive if your insurance has cancelled for non-payment or lapsed for any other reason.  If you already have insurance and you are in the process of buying a vehicle, you might be comparing Pennsylvania car insurance rates as you read this.  If you are planning to take your trip to the dealership this weekend, you might be wondering if you need to bind your insurance on your new vehicle before you drive off of the lot.  Learn how your current auto insurance will extend to the new vehicle and when you need to bind your insurance so you are never driving on the road unprotected.


Do You Need to Have Your Insurance In Place Before You Drive Off of the Lot?

You have probably compared several different vehicles and even test driven a few.  If you know what type of make or model you are looking for, you can start asking your agent for Pennsylvania auto insurance quotes so you know just how much you are going to spend each year or month.  When you ask for quotes, you may not know exactly what vehicle you are going to purchase.  It is common to go to the dealership with the intention of buying one car and then driving off with another.  This is why you do not bind your insurance before you sign the contract.  Just because you have not bound your insurance before you arrived at the dealership does not mean you have pick up the phone while you are signing the contract.  Fortunately for you, your existing car insurance will extend to a newly purchased vehicle for a limited period of time.


How Will Your Coverage Extend?

You might be wondering how your coverage will extend to a newly acquired vehicle.  If you are wondering, here is a basic description of how it works.  If you currently carry liability coverage and only liability, this is the only cover your new vehicle will have.  If you buy a new car, you will want to have full coverage especially if the vehicle if financed.  If you carry a $500 deductible for comprehensive and collision, these deductibles will extend as well.  Everything you currently have will extend to a newly acquired vehicle for either 14 or 30 days depending on the company.  If you still have your old vehicle, the coverage on this vehicle will still be valid until you have the vehicle removed from your policy.

Now that you understand how your insurance works you don’t have to stress about calling your agent before you leave the car lot.  Show the dealer your current ID cards and drive off with peace of mind that you are covered.

Pennsylvania Car Insurance: What Are The Pennsylvania Financial Responsibility Laws?

June 23, 2012 in auto insurance, auto insurance bradford, auto insurance bradford pa, bodily injury, bradford, Bradford Car Insurance, Bradford PA, bradford pennsylvania, car insurance, car insurance in bradford, car insurance in bradford pa, financial responsibility laws, full tort, limited tort, no fault, property damage, uninsured motorists

If you are new to Pennsylvania or you are in the process of testing for your license, it is time get familiar with financial responsibility laws in the state.  Financial responsibility laws, which are also commonly referred to as PA auto insurance laws, require all drivers in the state to carry valid auto insurance when they are driving a vehicle on public roadways.  Drivers who are caught driving without Pennsylvania car insurance can be punished in a number of different ways.  Some of the most common punishments include the suspension of your driver license, the suspension of your registration, fines, tickets, and even jail time.  As you can see, the state takes insurance very seriously.  Learn why insurance is so important and what type of insurance is covered in the state and protect your driving privilege and yourself.


What Coverage Must You Carry in Pennsylvania?

All drivers in the state must carry third party liability insurance.  This coverage will pay a third party driver if you cause damage or injuries to that driver.  Liability is made up of both Bodily Injury and Property Damage coverage.  Your policy will only pay up to the limits stated on your policy to pay for either injuries or damage.  You must satisfy the state minimums of $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident in Bodily Injury cover.  You also must carry $10,000 in Property Damage.

Not all states require drivers to carry first party (or medical payments) cover.  In Pennsylvania, you are required to carry a minimum of $5000 in medical benefits.  This coverage will pay for reasonable and necessary medical treatment resulting from an accident.  You can raise these limits if you desire by requesting higher limits on your Pennsylvania auto insurance quotes.

In some states, Uninsured Motorist is optional.  Officials in Pennsylvania require Uninsured Motorist so all drivers are protected from the few people who violate the financial responsibility laws.  If you are hit by someone with no insurance or low liability limits, your Uninsured Motorist cover will pay for your medical treatment up to the limits stated on your policy.  You must carry at least $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident of UM in Pennsylvania.  If you select higher limits you will have added protection in exchange for paying Pennsylvania car insurance rates.


Understanding Tort and Full Tort

Pennsylvania is one of the few states that is classified as a “no fault” state.  This means that you have the option to select either a Full Tort or Limited Tort policy.  When you select a Limited Tort policy you limit your rights to sue by receiving a lower premium.  When you select a Full Tort policy, you can sue for things like pain and suffering, embarrassment, and other losses.

As you can see, financial responsibility laws in Pennsylvania are very complex.  You need to make sure you understand these laws when you are getting your license or registering a car in the state.  Sit down with an agent and discuss the laws in detail so you have a deeper understanding.

Pennsylvania Car Insurance And Other Drivers

June 19, 2012 in auto insurance, auto insurance bradford, auto insurance bradford pa, auto insurance laws, automobile insurance, bradford, Bradford PA, bradford pennsylvania, car insurance, car insurance in bradford, car insurance in bradford pa, car insurance rates, car insurance rates bradford, collision, comprehensive, no fault, pa auto insurance laws

The answer to the question: Is anyone who drives my car insured? is that it depends. Most Pennsylvania car insurance policyholders do not read the automobile insurance documents and ask questions. Before loaning the auto to anyone, whether it is a family member or friend, a quick call to the insurance agent eliminates surprises. After an accident, many vehicle owners are surprised to discover they do not have insurance or have reduced protection. The time to check this important provision is before it is needed, not afterwards.


Listed Drivers

Pennsylvania car insurance rates are based on the drivers and the vehicles. This is why insurance agents are so careful to collect information on everyone who will be using the automobile and lives in the house. People listed on the insurance policy with valid driver’s licenses are protected to the maximum limits as long as they do not intentionally cause the accident or damage.


Other Drivers

Insurance providers have their own rules about unknown operators and coverage. A friend or relative who borrows the car occasionally may be insured. Most companies will not cover people living at the same address if they are not listed as additional drivers. This is a major problem when children return home, relatives move in temporarily or people share an apartment or house. Of course, if the automobile borrower has a vehicle and insurance on the car, his or her insurance company may provide some protection.


Potential Conflicts

Under PA auto insurance laws, all vehicles operated in the state must have insurance. Pennsylvania is a no-fault state.  All vehicles must carry Personal Injury Protection of at least $5000 which pays the medical bills of anyone injured in an accident. Liability insurance in the amount of $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident must be carried as well as $5000 to cover property damage. Most Pennsylvania car insurance coverage is written for higher liability limits and with comprehensive and collision protection. Comprehensive and collision repairs or replaces the car when it is damaged in an accident. When people borrow someone else’s vehicle, this coverage may change.


Possible Problems

Insurance providers may object to the driver and change the terms and conditions of the insurance. It is up to automobile owners to carefully research the company’s policies when they ask for Pennsylvania auto insurance quotes. This way, the car owner knows if the liability limits will be the same with another driver. Sometimes, an unlisted driver may not have any insurance.

It only takes a few minutes when comparing Pennsylvania car insurance rates to ask about the insurance providers policies. One of the questions should be: Is anyone who drives my car insured. The agent should know. If the insurance agent is uncertain, he or she can call the company and ask. However, the policyholder needs to verify the information on the insurance documents or ask for a written statement. This is the only way owners of Pennsylvania car insurance know what, if any, protection the vehicle has when someone else drives it.

What Is The Statute Of Limitations In Pennsylvania For Car Accident Injuries?

June 14, 2012 in bradford, Bradford Car Insurance, Bradford PA, bradford pennsylvania, car insurance, car insurance in bradford, car insurance in bradford pa, full tort, limited tort

If you have been involved in an accident and you live in Pennsylvania, it is important to get familiar with laws in the state before you need to file a claim for injuries.  Pennsylvania car insurance differs from different car insurance in other states.  This is because Pennsylvania is a “no-fault” state and the laws are constructed behind no-fault laws to make the process of filing claims and collecting on claims easier.  As a driver, the last thing you need to deal with is trying to collect on damages that you deserve.  Understand how no-fault insurance works and what the statute of limitations are in the state so you never wait too long to collect on money when you need money to rebuild your life and live comfortably.


What is No-Fault Insurance and What Does That Mean For You?


Before you start researching how long you have to file a claim you need to understand how your policy works.  No-fault insurance is an insurance policy where your insurance company will pay you for your damages regardless of who was deemed at-fault for the accident.  While this may not seem fair if you are from another state, it is designed to help drivers file stress-free claims.  When you have insurance that uses fault as a payment indicator, each insurance company will go back and forth  with their investigations to try to identify who was at-fault for the loss.  Each insurance company wants to other party to be at-fault so they do not have to pay.  When fault is not an issue, the claims process can go much more quickly.



What is Limited Tort?


You can choose between two different types of no-fault insurance: limited tort and full tort.  Limited tort policies limit your right to file claims on pain and suffering and other damages.  In turn for limited rights you will pay lower premiums.  You do still have the right to file a claim for damages but you will need to review your policy to see which damages are recoverable and which are not.  When you have a full tort policy, you are not limited in what you can claim.  Make sure you sit down and review your policy so you have a deep understanding of this before you file your claim.


How Long Do You Have to File a Claim?


Now that you understand how your insurance works, you need to find out how long you have to file a claim.  Each state has a statute of limitations on personal injury claims resulting from an accident.  In Pennsylvania, you must file a claim within 2 years of the accident to receive compensation.  If the time frame expires, collecting can be very difficult unless there are extenuating circumstances.

Make sure you understand your Pennsylvania car insurance inside and out when you are filing a claim.  Stay in contact with your claims adjuster and find out what you can file a claim for.  The money you receive will help you rebuild your life.


Pennsylvania Car Insurance: Average Payout For Pain And Suffering Claims

June 9, 2012 in bodily injury limits, bradford, Bradford Car Insurance, Bradford PA, bradford pennsylvania, car insurance, car insurance in bradford, car insurance in bradford pa, claim for personal injury, full tort, limited tort, pain and suffering damages, pain and suffering settlements, uninsured/underinsured motorists

When you are involved in an auto accident in Pennsylvania, you need to cooperate with your insurer to get the money you deserve.  Your Pennsylvania car insurance will pay to repair your car and will also pay to repair the other vehicle if you are deemed at fault for the loss.  If you are not at-fault for the loss and you were injured as a result of the accident, you may have the right to file for reimbursement and pain suffering.  Some drivers feel like they can only file claims on tangible bills that can be proven in court.  When you have an insurer that is willing to fight for you, you can collect on more than just tangible bills.  Find out how to file a claim for pain and suffering and how much you can expect to collect so you can get your life back to normal.


How to File a Claim For Personal Injury Including Pain and Suffering


If you have been involved in an accident, the first thing you need to do is go to the doctor to make sure you are healthy.  If you have any injuries, going to the doctor immediately will show that you took the proper precautions early.  After you are discharged from the hospital, you can call your insurance company to file a claim.  When you file the claim, they will ask where you sought treatment and whether or not you were injured.  Some injuries do not show immediately so you should never tell the other party you are fine or you were at-fault.  Give the insurer all of the information you have and they will contact the other party’s insurer for you.

You have to right to seek pain and suffering damages if you were injured.  Pain and suffering is covered as a part of personal injury.  This is the coverage that will pay for your medical bills as well.  If the other party’s insurance is not accepting responsibility, your insurer will fight for you.  If your insurer is not fighting for you, you can always hire a personal injury lawyer to seek damages.


How Much Can You Expect to Receive For Pain and Suffering?


Personal injury settlements in Pennsylvania vary significantly.  Your settlement will depend entirely on how serious your injuries were.  If the damage done is temporary, pain and suffering settlements will be lower.  If you suffer a permanent injury that keeps you from working or changes your ability to live a normal lifestyle, you can expect higher payouts.  The average range of payouts is between $900 and $115,000 in Pennsylvania and the final settlement will depend entirely upon the case.

Pennsylvania car insurance is designed to do more than just fix your vehicle.  It is designed to help you get back your life when you are injured and unable to work.  Make sure you understand your rights as a victim before you take a settlement from your insurer.  When you understand these rights you are more likely to exercise them.


Don’t Be Surprised  “After” an Injury


Being insured properly normally includes dealing with a trusted professional who can give you the best advice for your situation. Full tort versus Limited tort….medical limits…bodily injury limits..uninsured/underinsured limits. All these may sound like greek to you, but to an agent they will be worth explaining and encouraging you to make good, sound decisions.