August 30, 2011 in Pennsylvania car insurance quote
Pennsylvania is one of the many states that require insurance to operate a vehicle, which makes it important to get a Pennsylvania car insurance quote before moving to the state. The following information outlines the required coverage in Pennsylvania, defines the difference between limited and full tort coverage, and offers suggestions for keeping the cost of the premiums low. It also details the consequences of driving without insurance and explains a way for uninsurable drivers to obtain a policy.
Pennsylvania requires drivers to maintain bodily injury liability in the amount of $15,000/$30,000. This means that it will pay out up to $15,000 to one person for injuries or $30,000 for one accident, no matter how many people are involved. The state requires $5,000 coverage for property damage liability and another $5,000 for medical benefits. Property damage kicks in when the insured driver is at fault and covers damage to another person’s possessions. Medical benefits cover medical bills for the insured driver and anyone else covered on the policy, regardless of who causes the accident.
Limited versus Full Tort
Limited tort is a cheaper option for Pennsylvania drivers, but it limits the types of damages the insurance will cover. The driver waives his or her rights to place claims for certain things like pain and suffering unless the injuries meet specific criteria set forth by law. The third party at fault for the accident might get off the hook if the insured driver has limited tort coverage because the innocent person’s insurance carrier will not use its resources to pursue the person responsible.
Keeping Premiums Low
Purchasing limited tort coverage keeps premiums low, as does removing optional types of coverage such as uninsured motorist, underinsured motorist, and income loss or funeral benefits. Once the car has been paid off, collision and comprehensive coverage can be reduced or eliminated. Cars with safety features like airbags or security features such as a car alarm also have lower premiums. Many companies offer discounts for multiple vehicles or multiple policies, and good drivers and good students often qualify for discounts as well. Mature drivers can lower premiums by taking a refresher-driving course every three years. Finally, compare prices and coverage at no less than three insurance companies to find the best possible value.
Consequences of Driving without Insurance
Driving without insurance in the state of Pennsylvania is against the law, and the consequences can be severe. If caught, a driver can have his or her license and the vehicle registration suspended for three months. There is a fine of $300 for driving without insurance and substantial fees associated with reinstating both the license and the registration. The auto may be impounded and the driver will have to pay to get it out of the impound yard.
Insurance for the Uninsurable
A driver might be found uninsurable because of a poor driving record or more than one accident in a year. These drivers can participate in Pennsylvania’s Assigned Risk Plan, which every insurance company in the state is required to take part in. The Assigned Risk Plan forces companies to cover otherwise uninsurable drivers so they can legally operate a vehicle.
Pennsylvania is a beautiful state to move to, but driving without an automobile policy can be risky. Taking advantage of discounts, choosing the right features and comparing policies can keep premiums to a minimum while preventing a driver from having to experience the consequences of being caught on the road without insurance. So before moving to the state, make sure to get a Pennsylvania car insurance quote and secure the proper coverage to drive safely and legally.