If you are going to register a car in Pennsylvania, you are required to purchase auto insurance and carry proof of insurance while driving. The Commonwealth has adopted a set of requirements for minimum auto insurance for Pennsylvania that everyone must meet.

There are three parts to the minimum auto insurance for Pennsylvania that is required by law; medical benefits, bodily injury liability and property damage liability. Medical benefits pays medical bills for you or any one else on the policy regardless of whose fault the accident was. The law requires at least $5,000 worth of coverage. Bodily injury liability pays the medical expenses of someone that is injured in a wreck that is your fault. You must have at least $15,000 covering injuries for one person and $30,000 in total coverage to pay the medical bills of any other victims. Property damage liability is the type of coverage that pays for damage to a vehicle that you strike. The minimum limit is $5,000.

When you shop for minimum auto insurance for Pennsylvania, some of the companies may combine the two liability plans into a single plan providing a $35,000 limit which is acceptable to the Commonwealth. While it is not required by law, many drivers are also required to carry liability protection for their own vehicles by banks and lending companies. Since they have loaned the money for the car, they want to make sure that their investment is protected. You will have to have coverage that covers the amount of money that is owed on the loan or the lease.

If you choose to ignore the law and do not purchase auto insurance, your drivers license in Pennsylvania will be suspended along with your vehicle registration. A judge will also issue a fine of a minimum of $300 and you will be subject to paying restoration fees to have your license and registration reinstated. Failing to renew your policy on time will also subject you to the same penalties. The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania does allow a 31 day grace period to let the policy lapse between renewals but after that your vehicle registration privilege will be suspended for three months.